top of page

Pennsylvania Polite

Toto, I’m not in Florida anymore, or Pennsylvania for that matter. I have officially been living in Boston for about three weeks, and let me say that it is VERY cold.

Some might even say wicked cahld.

It is definitely an adjustment moving here. For the first time, I was relocating to a city I knew next-to-nothing about, without a readily available support system. With a university, you have a guaranteed opportunity for bonding with people your own age. After all, you’re surrounded by them day in and day out. Disney had a similar system in place.

In Boston, I’ve been tasked with finding my own group within an environment which is not inherently made for creating bonds. But to be honest, so far so good! My housemates and coworkers are kind and welcoming. I met some nice families at church who offered to show me around and take me out to lunch. I even found a bakery right near work that has addicted me to its sticky buns.

But I know everyone wants to hear about the new job. ACIS has been wonderful so far! It’s a colorful and cheerful office with lots of people who have already made me feel at home. I am even going to a self-defense class with one of my coworkers! Working in such an international office is perfect for me because there is always something new to learn, or a new food to try, or a new problem to solve. That really keeps me on my toes, and I love it!

The only real issue I’ve run into thus far is Boston driving! Good Lord, I thought that Florida driving was bad. On the trip up here, my mom mentioned something called a Pittsburgh left turn. Apparently, it’s well-known that in Pittsburgh, drivers at stoplights will wait a little while once the light turns green so that drivers making a left turn have a chance to go. After living in Pennsylvania for all my life, I think I can say that this applies to the whole state and not just the city of Pittsburgh.

This does NOT happen in Boston. In fact, if someone waited like this, I think they might be screamed at profusely by everyone in the entire city.

In fact, by Boston standards, I think I am incredibly soft-spoken, which I never considered possible before now. But, hey, I’m enjoying the challenge.

I’ve always liked trying new things, be it moving to a new city or country, trying a new food, or testing the waters in a new career path.

Well, here’s to trying to figure out how to be Pennsylvania polite, maybe with a touch of a Boston accent.

bottom of page