top of page

Blah...


Wrapping my head around everything that has happened in the last month has proved to be a near impossible feat. Every day, I have been trying to find time to sit down and just assess how I am feeling. After about two minutes, I give up because I always come up with the same answer.

Blah.

Positive blessings are balanced out with negative occurrences, personal achievements quickly swallowed by daily virus news, and of course the mundane existence that is doing the same thing day in and day out for an unspecified amount of time takes its toll. Oh and did I mention that it is another week until I can pet my dog?

Then there’s the survivor’s guilt, an inherently positive and negative phenomenon. How I am so lucky to still have a job when so many others are struggling to make ends meet because of the shutdown. How Disney decided to furlough seasonal employees rather than get rid of us all together. How my family and I are safely tucked away in rural Pennsylvania when so many others are fighting for their lives in cities across the country and world.

Anyway, I’m left with a net of blah, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Even though blah isn’t the best feeling one should be experiencing on a daily basis, I think that it’s near the best we can hope for right now. After all, our livelihoods have been ripped out from under us.

So how do we cope and work to maintain blah so that it doesn’t tip toward something more negative?

For me, I have been trying to find the joy in the little things. As we speak actually, I am using up half of my eggs to dye just because the idea makes me smile. I am spending some quality time with my Bible. Yesterday I made peanut butter bread because I was itching to cook something new…even though I kind of hate peanut butter. And tonight (after the egg decorating of course) I am going to take a luxurious, Chandler Bing-level bath.

How are you managing to maintain your blah? I want to know. If there is one thing this shutdown has taught us, it’s that however far apart we may physically be, we are still in this together. It is our responsibility to support each other no matter the space between us.

Blah is the new okay, so let’s make it our goal to make sure everyone is at least reaching blah.

bottom of page