top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeth Pfohl

And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

12 hours needed to study 11 Pages of papers to write 10 Hours spent in transit 9 Layers I’m prepping to wear in Norway 8 Countries left to visit 7 Flights until I’m home 6 Remaining adventures 5 DAYS LEFT IN LUX 4 Christmas Markets 3 Various holiday drinks 2 Raclette dinners And a partridge in a pear tree It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas here in Europe. Well, not really. While global warming is apparently making the States colder and more stormy, Europe is getting warmer. It’s mid-December, and it has been in the 50s now for a week and a half.  This was my last week of classes, so things have have been busy to say the least. In addition to prepping for finals week, we had a lot of end-semester-business to start wrapping up.  On Monday I sent in my video auditions for next semester’s theatre department productions. I was lucky enough to get a callback for both! Even though I didn’t land a part, I was really proud of how my hard work turned out, and at the very least, I have some great video auditions to use in the future. However, it was really weird to have emails documenting your callbacks without your name being on the posted callback lists, but I guess that makes sense seeing as Luxembourg and the callboard in the CPA are pretty far removed. I am just grateful that I had the chance to audition, even from across an ocean!  Also on Monday night, the dean of MUDEC held a thank-you dinner for the Student-Faculty Council. Here we tried a raclette meal which is basically where you have cheese on a table grill that you melt and pour over all your food. Delicious? Yes! Then on Tuesday it was time for our end-of-semester banquet. Basically, the whole MUDEC community comes together for one night to eat and reflect on the past semester. I won the superlative “Most Likely to be the Next Carli Williams” who is the Student Activities Coordinator leaving MUDEC at the end of this semester, I laughed at all the memories people shared, and I cried at our end-of-semester video. I am also truly grateful to have received the Ruth and Leland Dutton award for “academic excellence, citizenship, community membership, and well-balanced interests.” My family has always been so supportive of me following my dreams, including studying abroad, despite the cost that is associated with them, so I was thrilled to be able to tell my parents that next semester at Miami will be a much smaller financial burden thanks to the generosity of the Dutton family. Needless to say, I cried a lot of tears, both of joy and of sadness to leave, on Tuesday night. And all of this took place after I had to say goodbye to my kiddos at the Maison Relais where I have been volunteering all semester. They made me promise to give my brother their gamer tags so that they could play Fortnight together and continue to practice their English.  Wednesday I had my first final, and then my whole marketing class went to eat at my professor’s Brazilian restaurant in Lux City which was absolutely delicious. Thursday was my last day of classes, and then I had a discovery tour to Strasbourg, France, as well as to a coffee roastery on Friday. 


It’s also important to note that there was a European holiday on Thursday. School kids had off so that they could celebrate St. Nick’s Day! So in Europe, the Santa-figure visits on December 6th instead of the night of Christmas Eve. Traditionally, children get chocolate on St.

Nick’s Day if they are good and wooden switches if they are bad, and instead of getting presents from Santa on Christmas, family members exchange gifts.  I have spent my little free time over the last week visiting as many European Christmas markets as possible to help get myself into the Christmas spirit. I figured, I’m here around Christmas time, and Europe is famous for its picturesque markets, for good reason I might add.  Here’s the breakdown: 1. Luxembourg City, Luxembourg: -Great food options for both the meal and desert -The market has different hubs spread throughout the city -There is even an ice-skating rink in one hub -Live music -Carnival rides for kids -Not a lot of local-made stuff (Luxembourg is a tiny country, okay!) Thoughts: I love that the market is spread out all across the city because it spreads out the crowds and gets you to see more of the city. Also, this was the only market I visited that seemed to have plentiful dinner options, and as a bonus, all of the market locations are super beautiful! 8/10 2. Trier, Germany: -VERY CROWDED -Traditional appearance -Long lines for traditional Christmas drinks like Glühwein  -Also not a lot of local-made items  -Two different hubs of activity in close proximity -Live music Thoughts: Not worth the hype. German markets are the original and most famous ones, but this one wasn’t overly exciting.  5/10 3. Esch, Luxembourg: -Very small -Local feel -Live music Thoughts: Not worth the trip unless you’re a local. This felt much more like a small town festival, but it was cool to experience that as well! Side note, the city of Esch is currently in line to be a European Capital of Culture in the next few years.  2/10 5. Strasbourg, France: -Many, many different locations across the city -Local vendors mixed with franchises -Tons of deserts and lots of gingerbread -SO MANY DECORATIONS EVERYWHERE -Only place that I found hot apple cider Thoughts: Strasbourg is known as the “Capitale de Noël” (Capital of Christmas) and for good reason. I had an absolute blast exploring the booths and looking at the decorations all over the city, from Petite France to the cathedral. Definitely worth a trip because it will surely get you into the Christmas spirit! 10/10 There may be more than 12 days until Christmas, but I’ve started counting my blessings a little early this year.  And to all a good night!

10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page